Imaginary Characters

SPOILER ALERT! END OF THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, THE 5TH HARRY POTTER, AND BEGINNING OF THE 6TH HARRY POTTER WILL BE DISCUSSED.

As those of you who follow my blog know, I read The Fault in Our Stars and cried more than I have in a long time.

I have also been rereading the Harry Potter series and finished the 5th book a couple of days ago. I had been avoiding finishing it because I knew the end would make me cry. Actually, as I found out, I didn’t just cry when Sirius died. I cried for Harry when Dumbledore was telling him what he would have to do, what would be expected of him, and the sacrifices he would have to make.

A few days ago, I was reading the 6th Harry Potter in the car and Dumbledore was talking to Harry about Sirius. My eyes started to tear up when Harry said that what he was really going to miss was having someone outside of Hogwarts that loved and cared about him no matter what and that it would be weird to no longer receive letters from Sirius.

I’ve cried, or at least teared up, about other books: Pride and Prejudice (happy and sad tears), Oedipus Rex, The Book Thief, and many, many more.

So why do imaginary characters effect us so much? Is it only certain people that are effected or is it everyone? Are some people effected more than others? Are we effected because of the characters, the writing, or our connection to the characters? Is it good to be effected? Is it bad? Are we effected by some character more than others? Is that because of past experience or just because of who we are? Are some people effected by a certain character more than another while it is the opposite for others? In essence, am I effected because I’m human, or because of the human I am?

Leave a Reply

