Innovation Diploma 5: Twitter and coVentures

So, wow, long time, no talk. Sorry about that. If you’ve been keeping up even a little, you probably already know what’s going on in my life, but maybe not (and I’m supposed to keep a weekly reflection) so I’m going to be restarting these posts. Unfortunately, I don’t remember much of what’s happened since the last time I did a post like this, so we’ll see how this goes.

As you can see on the sidebar, I got a Twitter account, something I swore I would never do. I completely blame Mr. Adams and Mrs. Cureton for this one, though, as they kept pressuring me to do it. Actually, Anya and I made ours at the same time and we kept having to go ask Mrs. Cureton questions (Mr. Adams wasn’t there) because we had no idea what we were doing (go ahead, laugh. I can admit, a couple of teenagers not knowing how to work social media is pretty funny) and she finally just said, “Go make a Twitter account, already!” and Anya and I laughed for a good 3 minutes because how often do you hear a teacher say that at school? Usually it’s, “Get off of Twitter!” Anyway, Twitter has been massively helpful when I’m trying to find things to read and watch and it has also connected me to some great people.

Speaking of which (I can already tell this post is going to be very disjointed), Anya and I recently had a Google Hangout with Grant Lichtman. For those of you who don’t know, he is the author of The Falconer and #EdJourney. The first is about the art of problem solving and the second is about the changes school are going through. We were blown away by not only this opportunity, but also the praise he gave us during and after. So, Mr. Lichtman, if you’re reading this, thank you. We’re also looking forward to some other opportunities coming up soon, which you will hear more about later.

If this post comes across as a little braggy, it’s not meant to. I say that because I will probably be talking a lot about this semester what will be happening over the summer. I and 5 other students will be going to Sweden, Switzerland, and Finland through Global Leadership Summit for 9 days in June to tackle some questions about education with other students. Our pitch to lead all of the students through a design thinking challenge has been accepted and I will be working on what we will say and do then throughout this semester. Very exciting!

We have also completed the three-week design sprint to work on our room. We created replicas of the room out of cardboard boxes and have designed and created some furniture for the rooms. We also used SketchUp to create models of the room on the computer and add furniture on there. In the next few weeks, we will be pitching our ideas for the rooms to various administrative people to get clearance to start redecorating.

Last week, I and a few other members of the cohort went to Schoen Installations, a company interested in having the cohort lead some of the top members of the company through a design thinking challenge. We went to observe the facility and ask questions to the head of the company. I don’t think I can tell you much more than that.

This week, Anya and I had a Google Hangout with freshman from a school in Texas who are about to start their own projects centered on things they like to do. That was really cool because we not only got to impart some of the things we learned onto other people, but we also learned that we know things we didn’t know we knew.

To conclude, I want all of you to know that I will be trying to write these posts more often (as in, once each weekend), but I sometimes forget. Therefore, I would love for you to send me a tweet at @Kat_A_Jones with a quick, “Where’s your post about Innovation Diploma for this week?” if you don’t see a post up by fish on Sunday. I know I really shouldn’t ask this of you, but I am.

Leave a Reply

