January Joys: Alone Time

Today, for what feels like the first time all break, I finally got alone time. In reality, I think I had a day or two at the beginning of break to be by myself in my room, but since then it’s been a cycle of spending time with friends and family and I’m just so glad I got to spend the day alone in my room.

I’m an introvert, a term many seem to know very little about, assuming it means I’m going to be quiet and shy – and I can be, but only when I’m just getting to know someone, but that’s a different part of who I am. And just as there are many different types of extroverts, there are different kinds of introverts.

For me, being an introvert is like that scene in The Little Mermaid where Ursula is taking Ariel’s voice as payment for giving her legs. I am Ariel, the amount of energy I have is her voice, and everyone else is Ursula. The bit where Ursula demands, “Keep singing!” is like everyone else demanding a high energy level from me all day long, and at the end of the day I have no more energy just as Ariel has no more voice. But sometimes, every now and then, I get a day to myself to get my “voice” back.

I didn’t really do much besides sit in bed and read The Great Gatsby, but that was all I needed to have my energy level replenished before starting second semester tomorrow. So look out classmates. I’ll have the energy to deal with you for at least one day!

Leave a Reply

