January Joys: Running

Well, track season has officially starts, and that means late nights and tired muscles.

I may complain a lot about track, but there are actually quite a few things I enjoy about it. I love the satisfying feeling of aching muscle because it means I worked hard. I love making new friends as we bond over hard workouts and hours of practice. I love meets on Saturdays when I get to watch other people do what they love and don’t have to worry about anything but a couple of races.

Today we did 200 sit-ups and a 2.5-3 mile run and I know I’m going to feel it tomorrow. But next week it will be easier, and still easier the week after.

This year, I’m really going to try to keep up with running. I’m thinking about doing cross country next fall and maybe swim in the winter. In the mean time, I’ll work on getting back in shape.

Leave a Reply

