January Joys: Reading

I love reading. I love seeing a tale spin off of words on a page and into my head. I love knowing someone got to do something they love when they wrote, and that they did it because they know someone else will enjoy it.

I got to spend the day reading short stories and novels. I have a hard time reading only one book at a time, so my Goodreads has about 10 books listed as “Currently Reading” and I alternate between them depending on my mood, which really confuses the friend I have who can only read one book at a time.

I haven’t had much time over the past couple of years to just sit down and read. Between doing my homework, hanging out with my friends more, being busy in class, and going to extracurricular activities, reading time has fallen between the cracks, so it was nice to finally take some time to focus on another place.

There’s something very appealing to me about being swept up in someone else’s story, someone else’s life. There’s something appealing about being able to become lost in a different world for a few hours, leaving my own worries behind, even if it means I have to come back eventually.

Leave a Reply

