January Joys: Letter Writing

I find something very calming about hand-writing a letter. Something very calming about thinking about each word, watching the letters form on the page, and knowing it will make someone smile.

Last year, a friend introduced me to the idea of writing letters to people by writing me one when she knew I was struggling with something. She writes them to people all the time though an organization called More Love Letters, which encourages spreading love to family, friends, and strangers by writing a few kind words to make their day better.

In the spirit of More Love Letters, I sometimes stop and take the time to tell people how much they mean to me, especially when I know they’re going through a tough time, just need a few kind words, or have done something recently that means a lot to me.

I like writing in black ink pen when I write letters – whether it’s on a card, printer paper, or a note book – because I like the look of the liquid drying on the page. Sometimes, like at Yearbook Signing, I’ll writing in someone’s favorite color. When I was in Europe over the summer, I wrote letters to a friend about what I’d done that day in a rotation of colors.

Sometimes I doodle on the letter; symbols and phrases that will mean something to the reader. Sometimes I know exactly what I’m going to say, and other times I just go with what feels right.

It’s just a way for me to tell someone how I’m feeling and how much they mean to me, especially since I often feel like the spoken word fails me. I’ve learned they don’t need to be perfect. They just need to be something to make someone smile. Which doesn’t seem so bad, does it?

Leave a Reply

