January Joys: My Dad

An Open Letter To My Dad

Dear Dad,

Thank you. Thank you for changing my diapers when I was a baby, for feeding me when I was crying in the middle of the night, and for playing with me when you had a chance. Thank you for doing such a good job recording my growth through videos and pictures we can now laugh at and fawn over.

Thank you. Thank you for saying goodbye when I stepped out of the car even though I was already gone, for listening to me ramble about what I did in class, and for healing my cuts and scraps. Thank you for reading to me and introducing me to a world of words and lessons.

Thank you. Thank you for being excited when I lost a tooth, for congratulating me when I did well in school, and for not freaking out when I started wearing bras. Thank you for letting me try new things to see what made me happy and what didn’t.

Thank you. Thank you for trying to understand “girl things,” for holding me when I cried, and for encouraging me to keep going when I felt like quitting. Thank you for wanting to fix my problems, even when both of us knew you couldn’t.

Thank you. Thank you for letting my mind and opinions develop based on the world I’m growing up in and not the one you grew up in, for reminding me to be careful about what I share with the world, and for slowly learning that morning is not a teen’s best time of day. Thank you for accepting my choices and my wants, even when you don’t always agree with them.

Thank you. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for caring about me. Thank you for rooting for me. Thank you for encouraging me. Thank you for being my Dad.

Love,

Sweet Pea

Leave a Reply

